Visual Studio 2008 Workflow Project Wizard – SharePoint Not Installed

Problem:

I’m creating a SharePoint Sequential Workflow using Visual Studio 2008 (SP1) with .Net 3.5 SP1 installed.  This is on a Windows 2003 R2 VPC with SharePoint 2007 (MOSS Enterprise) installed on the local machine for development.  A Collaboration Portal is installed on a web site with host headers (portal) assigned to port 80.

When I create a new workflow project, the wizard asks for a path to the SharePoint site.  I type in my url (http://portal in my case), and the project wizard fails, saying “SharePoint server not installed. Please run Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 setup.”  

VS2008WF-SharePointNotInstalled

I’m logged in as the farm administrator.  I thought it might be a permissions issue (my farm admin doesn’t have full rights on the domain), so I went back and gave it full Domain Admin rights in case that was the problem.  Still failing!!

What the hell?

Resolution:

It turns out that the wizard does some funny business behind the scenes, calling the database directly.  When I give my development account (farm admin) account full rights (dbo) to the SharePoint content database for my portal site, bingo!  Works like a champ. 

After only an hour or two spinning my wheels.  Sigh….


  del.icio.us it! digg it! reddit! technorati! yahoo!

One response to “Visual Studio 2008 Workflow Project Wizard – SharePoint Not Installed

  1. Thank a lot ! I saved almost an hour šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

